Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

menu

Implement proper time zones support

iroca says:
I'm a developer and a longtime heavy user and huge fan. Up until now it has all been great. However, from now on, I have to deal with different time zones (TZs) and I noticed significant drawbacks.

I guess what I'm facing is a huge issue too if you are a frequent traveler, cross-border commuter, or employee in a global company spread across different TZs (online meetings, conferences...).

ISSUES

1. Moving back and forth between neighboring TZs (eg Spain-Portugal, UK-France) it's a nightmare because all the 'all day' tasks change their days (all marked days, birthdays, etc. show in the day before/after, even only for an hour difference). Of course, all the tasks with a specified time move one hour after/before. That's expected because the device TZ is offset from the TZ the tasks were created on. Your proposed way to deal with it is changing the account TZ on the web interface, and choose whether converting ALL the tasks times to the new TZ or keeping ALL of them as they are. However, there are tasks that should always be local time (wake up, have lunch, buy some milk, have dinner, own birthday and most 'all day' tasks...) and others that are on a specific time in a specific TZ (meetings, TV shows, release dates, national holidays, etc.). When crossing TZs the tasks marked as local time should never change their DateTime and always show at the time they were set while the tasks with an specified TZ should appear offset to the new device TZ (as it is now implemented).