Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

menu

GTD - How to search for projects without Next Actions?

gregmay82 says:
I am just getting started with RTM and trying to implement "Getting Things Done." I assign a unique tag to next actions and have smart lists for each context that returns only next actions for that context.

I would like to run a daily search that returns a list of projects that have no "next action" identified (so I can identify some). Otherwise, of course, those projects will stall. I have too many projects to look through each one "manually" each day, and don't want to wait until the weekly review because I don't want projects to stall that long.

If there is a way to do this with my set-up, great. If I need to change my set-up to do it, that's great, too -- unless it requires me to create a list for each project.

So, here's a little about my set-up..

I do not use lists for projects because I have a lot of projects and do not want to clog up the interface with all those list tabs.

From what I've seen in the forums, many RTM-GTDers feel likewise, and thus create a task for each project name and give each "task" that is actually a project a unique tag, like "proj." This is what I am doing.

I also create a unique tag for each project, which I assign to the project and to each task in a project.

FOR EXAMPLE, the project "replace gate" gets tagged with "proj" and "replace-gate", and all the tasks associated with the project get tagged with "replace-gate". This allows me to click on "replace-gate" in the tag cloud and get all tasks for that project in front of me. And, as I already noted, I tag Next Actions with a unique tag ("gtd-next-action")