Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

menu

Only thing stopping me from using RTM

dannysmith says:
Hi,

I really want to use RTM as my mainstream to-do list. Right now, I'm using the Google Mail Tasks. The only thing i see there that I can't find here is the way to have a task inside a task.

An example for me being:
- Create a FAQ
Then, inside this have:
- How to contact Us
- Etc

While in RTM, I cant find a way to do that.

Can someone please help me on how to do that. I really want to use RTM.

Thanks,

Danny
Posted at 5:57pm on February 18, 2009
(closed account) says:
You cannot do this directly, and RTM officially said (by Emilie, in Nov-05) that have no plans to implement the sub-task features.

You have to create a workaround with tags or a Grease Monkey script (Firefox/Opera only -- check the one by masnare).

Posted 15 years ago
dannysmith says:
Ahhh, Ok then :(

How exactly would you create a workaround with tags? Sorry, I'm a noob.
Posted 15 years ago
jeff.rhine says:
Unless you create a new project (ie, list/smart list) for each high-level task, you would only be able to approximate sub-tasks visually. There have been a few posts on the subject, one of which suggests using numbers to order your tasks, which you can find here (by dan.julian):

http://www.rememberthemilk.com/forums/tips/6773/

Here's an excerpt:

1. Decide length of story.
2. Develop resource list.
2.1. Read resources.
2.1.1.1. Eat a chocolate cake.
3. Create character sketches.
4. Etc....

--------------------

Since I personally don't need to order my tasks to such a detailed level, I might suggest the following:

.Main Task is typed with single period to denote highest level
_Subtask is next with a single underscore to denote subtask
_Next subtask
_Again a subtask

----------------------------------------------

Perfect? No. Cumbersome? Yes. But right now (unless there's a clever implementation of RTM I haven't thought about yet,) it is the only option.