Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

menu

Importing Palm Pilot Tasks

(closed account) says:
Hello. I've been using Palm Pilot for the past five years and finally moved on to an iPhone. Due the lack of a ToDo list on the iPhone, I found RTM and am eager to give it a try.

One thing I can't figure out is how to import my to do lists from Palm Pilot. In particular, I have a bunch of lists such as a reading list, movie list, etc. where I check off the books/movies after I have read/watched them. I like to keep the completed items around as a record of what's I've already read/watched and I like to have the date completed to help me remember when I read/watched it.

I understand how to use the e-mail to import lists, but how can I import completed items along with their completion dates? If I have to, how would I enter a completion date manually that is not today?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Ken
Posted at 6:35pm on December 11, 2008
emily (Remember The Milk) says:
Hi Ken,

Unfortunately the email import feature only handles task names (it doesn't understand due dates or other task properties) at this time. :(

We don't have a feature that would allow an import like this currently, sorry. :(
Posted 15 years ago
(closed account) says:
Really? Then what is the meaning of this post from your website?

http://www.rememberthemilk.com/help/answers/sending/emailinbox.rtm

To me that looks like instructions for importing many fields other than just the task name.
Posted 15 years ago
ranbarton Power Poster says:
Emily was referring to the bulk import method, here: https://www.rememberthemilk.com/help/answers/sending/importemail.rtm
Posted 15 years ago
(closed account) says:
Okay, well, let's assume that I can write a script that will send my tasks by e-mail, one at a time, using the method in the link I found. I still don't see how I can include completed items. Is there a way?