Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

menu

RTM, GTD and Blackberry

cteetoo says:
I'm relatively new to GTD ( In fact, I learned about GTD from reading posts here on the forum! ) and still trying to find the best tools to use with my PC & Blackberry. I've combed the forum & found lots of posts and ideas for GTD, and lots for Blackberry....but none which incorporate the two.

I've been a RTM user for a while, and it seems this solution is so very close to being the perfect solution. I've come across a number of ways that GTD can work in RTM, and begun to implement them....but the lack of SmartList functionality on the Blackberry stops me every time. I need something which works across both PC & BB platforms

Is there anyone out there using GTD and RTM on their Blackberry? Can you provide me some tips on how you manage things?

I appreciate any & all ideas.
Posted at 1:13am on June 20, 2008
(closed account) says:

I'm in the same boat as you. There are a few tools out there that I have found out about:

NextAction so far seems the most promising:

http://www.s4bb.com/software/nextaction/

It uses the default Blackberry database. So you aren't tied into some third party DB. I suggest also signing up to be a Pro member to GTM and they offer a Blackberry Sync Tool.

With those three tools, you can use GTD and GTM effectively.

Next Action to view your tasks on your BB. The Sync Tool to sync with GTM and of course GTM for everything else..

There is also an alpha tool called BBRTM: http://bbrtm.org/ that looks very promising but right now it's read only (you can't complete or update a task) and what worries me most is the author seems to be working on other things and doesn't appear too willing to delegate to other developers.. But that's just my impression.

There is also ToDoMatrix. The BB application looks fantastic but it's based entirely on a 3rd party database and will require a monthly fee to back it all up.

I hope that helps and Good Luck

J