Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

GTD@RTM

dan.julian says:
I know this is highly subjective, and I'm an RTM newbie, but after scanning the forums and the tubes for a bit, I think I've come up with a unique way to do GTD on RTM. And while it's our job to do the clarifying/engaging (processing/doing in GTD-speak), it seems like people keep working for a better method of organizing the results of their clarification processes. The following post is long, but I hope it's helpful.

That said, my ideal GTD@RTM system is not going to be the place for "Trash," "Reference," or "Support" materials. Those belong in trash cans and file folders, respectively. My ideal GTD@RTM system is going to effectively address "Outcomes," "Actions," and "Incubating Items." I'm going to propose one that I think works well below.

And, I should say, I know this will probably only be one in a million ways to try it, but hopefully it will help some people GTD better and result in a net increase in the world's creative greatness. Feel free to offer tweaks and suggestions that keep in the general spirit of what I'm attempting, as described in the "Goals" section below.

Some background: I just started with RTM, switching from Cultured Code's Things Touch because I like the RTM feature-set quite a bit more. I looked at quite a few apps, and in spite of the fact that I remain critical of RTM's refusal to add sub-tasking, it's the best I've found. I'm still testing out the iPhone app to see if I want to go Pro, but at this point, it looks like a non-question--the app is very smooth, and I want RTM in my pocket. So, if something will obviously not work from an RTM point-of-view, feel free to point it out. How can I be offended if the goal is general improvement of everyone's efficiency and GTD-fu?

GOALS:
1) Effectively corral incoming and yet-to-be-clarified "stuff"