Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

My GTD Setup Using RTM

(closed account) says:
Hello, I've been a Pro User now for about a year and wanted to share with everyone how I've set up my GTD methodology within RTM.

A couple of things to note about my approach to GTD... I am a user of Start Dates, and having a Start Date field is one of the main reasons I'm a RTM user as most other apps out there only have Due Date. For me, there are a lot of things that I have to do, but I can't start them until a specific date in the future. Hence, I use the Start Date field to capture the date I want to "start" working on them. Until that date, I don't want to see the action on my Next Actions list. So as you will see below with my set up, Start Date (or Start After Today) is a key query item for my set up.

Second note, I use a "Focus" smartlist. This smartlist is the list that I work from 95% of my day. The Focus smartlist is a hack that I set up within RTM using the Priority Field. RTM uses 4 levels of Priority (none, 3, 2, and 1 with 1 being the highest priority). So my hack is that Priority Level 1 are those things that I chose to work on today. I then use Priority Level 2 to denote any "important" tasks that I need to keep my eye on, but other than that I don't use the Priority Feature.

Lists
I have my lists set up into various groupings and the name of each list begins with the corresponding number below. I sort the Lists alphabetically and the number is used in my SmartLists queries that I will discuss later.

1. Work - lists associated with projects or single actions for my job. A few example would be: 1. Single Actions_Work; 1. Project ABC; 1. Project XYZ
2. Personal - lists associated with projects or single actions for my personal family life. A few examples would be: 2. Single Actions_Personal; 2. Finances; 2. Rental Property