Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

I only care about today

tvjames says:
I've been using RTM for 11 years and probably been pro for 8 or 9. I've tried a number of different methods over the year to try to organize my day, but I keep coming back to this one. I put *everything* into RTM, so on any given day it'll start with several hundred, more than I can do in that day.

This method is really only about trying to come up with a list of what I can do today. This planning stage probably takes 10-15 minutes while I'm doing freestep (I have the laptop on a music stand in front of me.)

I have four favorited smart lists:
1. Today1 (due:today priority:1)
2. Today2 (due:today priority:2)
3. Today3 (due:today priority:3)
4. Today4 (due:today priority:none)

Step 1 - collect anything new that's come in via email or IFTTT or Alexa or just a quick note to myself via the app:

Search for "due:never" for any that made it into the system without a due date. Press [*][a][p] to select and postpone all of them. (Now they're due today.)

Step 2 - collect everything that's overdue:

Search for "dueBefore:today" - a sign I was overly ambitious the previous day. Press [*][a][1] to set all their priority to 1 and then [p] to postpone so that they're now all due today.

Step 3 - go to "1. Today1" - this should now be your full list for the day. Go down the list. [k] to move to next item, [j] to move to previous item, [x] to select.

Then press:
[2] - Most important. Things I want to do this morning. Quick wins.
[3] - Today. Things I want to do today at some point.
[4] - Later. I can't do these yet, like sweeping the kitchen floor after dinner or cleaning the catbox.
[p] - Not going to happen today. Maybe tomorrow.
[d] - Reassign to a future date beyond tomorrow. (kicking the can down the road)