Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

GTD meets Eisenhower meets just doing stuff

stevepaulo says:
My personal RTM system has evolved over the years (I've been using RTM since 2005). It has been informed by GTD, by the Eisenhower Matrix, and by all manner of other systems and tips I've picked up over the years.

With the new updates to the software-- especially subtasks and start dates-- my system got a huge upgrade, and I barely had to tweak anything. Here's the gist:

1. Every task in the Inbox -- I don't use static lists. Everything goes into, and stays in, the Inbox. I have ways of surfacing new stuff, as you will see.

2. Locations are actually locations -- I use RTM's location geofencing usually to separate out household tasks that I can only do at home, but also for things that I need to do AT work (and not just while I'm working, which is often remote or from home).

3. Labels are projects -- Simple. I have about a dozen labels I use to separate out "sections" of my life. The reason I don't use static lists for this is because things can cross over. A project might be "dev" because it's hobbyist development I'm doing, or it could be for work, so it's also a "career" task. Etc.

4. Priorities -- I use the High/Med/Low priorities as visual cues, but my system really only distinguishes between "Important" issues (with Priority 1-3) and "Unimportant" issues (Priority N/4).

5. Repeating tasks -- Weekly/Monthly/etc. reminders. I often filter them out or make sure they only bubble up on their due date. This includes a weekly retrospective, when I will look back at the week's completed tasks, review "Upcoming" for tasks that may need more context/subtasks/etc., and schedule things in the "! Do or Schedule" list. My retrospective usually takes 5 minutes or less, and I do it on Sunday evenings.

6. Smart Lists -- The heart of the system. I use seven lists, here are their descriptions and the search terms that build them: