Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

Monk to Done, my GTD approach

waldir.leoncio says:
I've been lifehacking for quite a few years (maybe decades, if you consider the time before the term "lifehack" first appeared) and I've read about and tested quite a few productivity methods, but none of them has ever stuck for so long. In a matter of months I'd get sick of a method and would go search for another one. Just to name the two most famous: GTD is, in my humble opinion, too complicated and high-maintenance; ZTD is a step in the right direction, but it doesn't improve much. After years studying task/project management methods and adapting them to fit my style, I've come up with a system I have found to be optimal --- for me, at least --- and I'd like to share it with all the community. I'm a long-time RTM user, so this method naturally came to be 100% compatible with RTM.

I've never cared to name this method, but if I had to, I'd call it something like Monk To Done, since I think it is basically a simplification of ZTD, which in turn is a simplification of GTD. So, without further ado, here it is.

1. Locations
Yeah, I'm starting with locations because I think it is important to get it out of the way before everything else. I'll treat RTM's locations kinda like Allen's "contexts".

Go to your RTM locations page and create an entry for every place on which you usually check for tasks. Some examples are:
- home
- work
- downtown
- phone
- computer

As you can see, I'm using the locations page to enter both real and virtual locations. This shouldn't be a problem even if you use the RTM smartphone apps' location-aware capabilities. If you want, just pin virtual locations to some place you're not likely to be, like the south pole of the middle of the ocean. The important thing is to have all locations on one place. This will make it much easier later, trust me.