Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

Show a task in Today x days before Due Date

fbiljecki says:
Hello, I am new with RTM, I recently switched to it from Things (because of the high price, poor sync solution, limited iPhone app, etc.) and I must say that I am satisfied. Well done! However I miss something from Things, beside the desktop application:
it is the ability to automatically move a task to Today x days before its Due date.
Is this possible with RTM? I know that RTM offers the excellent Tomorrow possibility, but there are some tasks that for example I would like to have two or three days before their due date. I know that this is maybe against the GTD philosophy but that's just the way I work, and Things offers it. Thanks.
Posted at 8:37pm on February 20, 2009
dan.julian says:
I just switched from Things as well. Welcome to RTM! I'm also finding myself extremely satisfied, but extremely missing the "Scheduled" list. So, I'm responding to say, "Yes, I'd like this also. Do any RTMers know what to do?"

PS - @fbiljecki - any thoughts on the RTM app? I saw you went pro and I'm imagining so as to get the iPhone app. I'm liking it, but I'd be happy to hear your thoughts.
Posted 15 years ago
fbiljecki says:
@dan.julian, I like the RTM app for iPhone. In my opinion, it is more advanced than the Things Touch app. The thing I really like is that it puts the overdue tasks in Today. That's not the case with the RTM web application, where overdue tasks almost vanish from all important views, while in Things they are emphasised. There is also the landscape mode, geotagging, over-the-air sync (one of the main reasons why I've switched to RTM), etc. I am really satisfied with the iPhone app. But I think that pro should have more features. It's not that I am saying that it is expensive, I would even pay for the basic version, but the gap between basic and pro is too small.