Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

How to setup automatic next actions the GTD way

sevenupcan says:
Hi there,

I'm very new to Getting Things Done and may have the philosophy wrong, but when I read what others were posting about intergrating GTD with RTM I became inspired and set to create my own workflow which so far I think works greatfor me and think it will for others.

I've seen a lot of setups which people have posted but for me I feel they require more effort than I feel appropriate for collecting, processing, organising and reviewing tasks. I wanted an approach that was as flexible as possible with as little inconvienience as possible.

So this is my setup...

Lists
-----

Inbox (all tasks and items)
1. Unprocessed
2. Next Actions
3. Waiting For
4. Calendar
5. Someday/Maybe

Each of my lists are smartlists expect for the inbox. I use numbers to help keep the lists in that order only for visual purposes.

Tags
----

In conjunction with these lists I have a few tagging conventions, but I have tried to keep them as simple as I can. I envisioned tags working in a few ways:

1. Allow me to see what groups and projects I have cleary, ie at the top of the list
2. Allowing me extra control over a task's meaning and attributes, ie waiting for someone, or incubating the task
3. Allow me to add context to the task so I can see clearly what state of mind or requirement is needed to help complete the task, ie email someone, call someone, douments on home computer

Here are my naming conventions using prefixes...

+ Projects (For any task that requires more than one action for it to be completed)
- Groups (For any set of tasks or items which may or may not require action but are related)
. Attribute (Attributes which help determine status of the task)
@ Context (Requirement needed to complete task)

Unprocessed
-----

[img]http://sevenupcan.com/experiments/rtm/UnprocessedRTM.jpg[/img]