Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

Dynamic Packing Lists

evan.fredericks says:
Tags and Smart Lists are a powerful combo for customizing task list views based on context. I also use these for creating dynamic check-lists from a "master" list based on ad-hoc criteria.

For example, I have a master packing list with over 100 packing items for trips ranging from a quick weekend getaway to a 10 day international camping trip.

Within the master list, I have:
* Items that I'll pretty much always pack
** Examples: "c:jeans," "h:chapstick" (the first letter denotes the category of item - in this case 'c' for chap stick and 'h' for hygiene - and is used to keep the list sorted by category when sorting alphabetically)
* Items that are only packed based on specific criteria
** Example: "c:gloves" is tagged with "t-cold". ('t' is a prefix for "trip" so these tags also bunch together since RTM sorts these alphabetically in drop-downs/autocomplete)

I then make a smart list that has the following criteria:
List - is - Packing
Tag - is not - t-cold <-- modify this to whatever trip attributes you want to filter out, adding an additional "Tag - is not" criteria for each one. (some ideas for these tags are at the bottom of this post)
Tag - is not - skip <-- this will be used to filter out items that I am deciding not to bring on this trip for whatever reason (remember to make a task to remove the "skip" tag from all tasks in your master packing list when you get back from the trip so they don't get filtered out of future trips)

Which will include all of the universal packing items (they are un-tagged) and any tags that I didn't filter out.

As I go about my packing, I either:
1. Mark the items as complete once they are packed.
2. Tag them with "skip" to get them off the list.