Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

My way of working with RTM

skonovalov says:
Hi, my name is Sergey. I'm an entrepreneur from St. Petersburg in Russia.

I've been using RTM for several years, and through that time I've built a handy system of organization of actions. Would like to share with you the way I plan and process my actions.

INBOX

Since I read "Getting Things Done" by David Allen, I store nearly nothing in my memory, leaving all incoming notes, reminder, comments, ideas into my lists. RTM mobile app inbox is a perfect place for that. If you get a habit to process your inbox every day, this will make your life a lot happier and easier, as you will never forget. Later you can edit each task or move it to other locations like Evernote or some documents.

Just give it a try and you'd probably never turn down.

WHEEL OF LIFE

Traditional model of "Wheel of Life" has 6-7 spheres of your life that you have to pay attention to. I found it too complicated and reduced them to just four:

ME - personal development, health;
BUSINESS - finance, professional development, projects;
MILIEU - family, friends, society;
LIFE - fun, hobbies, traveling;

I have created a list for each sphere and put my actions accordingly. When you see that you have too much actions in just one sphere and nothing in others it is a clear sign to balance your life and add more from other spheres. This way I made myself more committed to my family and photography as a hobby, when I saw my list was full of business and personal actions only.

CONTEXT