Welcome!  English (US) Language Switcher

Thinking about going Pro? Votes are doubled for Pro users; each vote adds +2 or -2.

Have a new idea?

Submit a suggestion

Ability to unshare a list

apgordon says:

I have two RTM accounts... one for work and one for personal (though this morning I decided to just combine the two).

It's not a big deal, because I don't see the shared list unless I click on Contacts -> view shared tasks, BUT I feel like there should be a way to unshare a list if both parties agree.

I realize this is currently impossible (http://www.rememberthemilk.com/help/answers/sharing/unsharelist.rtm), but feel like if I control both ends of the sharing, I should be able to change this...

Posted at 1:31pm on August 19, 2009

Like
Dislike
gmonty Pro says:

I just came across this and I totally agree. I shared a list with my girlfriend and she no longer wants it in her RTM and there is no way I can remove it unless I delete the list. Seems silly really.

Posted 4 years ago

mfpost says:

I would also like the ability to Unshare a task or folder

Posted 4 years ago

andres.riancho says:

+1, unsharing should be part of RTM.

Posted 4 years ago

ilyse.kazar Pro says:

++1

i shared some task lists from a contract job to my personal RTM account. I no longer work there but it seems that even as the shared-to party i have no way to "unsubscribe" from those lists. I have no option but to clutter up my task list with tasks that no longer have anything to do with me!

kazar

Posted 4 years ago

adandl says:

I would not even say that this is a feature.
I consider it a bug that you can share but not unshare a list!

That needs to be corrected asap

Albert

Posted 4 years ago

apgordon_work says:

+1
Yup, I have the same set up (a ps and a wk account). Seems like if you control the two accounts in question, this shouldn't be an issue.

Posted 4 years ago

apgordon_work says:

Wow. I didn't read who posted this originally and just realized it was me. Whoops, sorry.

So... obviously still think this is a good idea, heh.

Posted 4 years ago

janvanderploeg Pro says:

+1
I want to use RTM with my wife. If a (for me) repeating task have to be shared for one time, I need to be able to share it and unshare it.

Delete and recreate a (repeating) task as the only way to unshare a task won't work. To much work.

Posted 4 years ago

peter.leonard says:

+1

I shared my inbox with my wife and I now have no way of unsharing it. She has made no changes to the list and she now no longer wants it in her RTM as it is impossible to distinguish between my Inbox and her Inbox (you can't rename a Inbox). Neither one of us can unshare the list. Seems like basic functionality. Agree with previous poster that the lack of this feature makes RTM unsuitable for business purposes.

I love RTM but the inability to unshare a list is a real blocker.

Posted 4 years ago

kanntara says:

+1

Posted 4 years ago

freecellwizard Pro says:

I'm getting a divorce and I can't unshare any of my lists with my ex. Is the workaround to just delete all my lists and start over? This seems like a hassle.

Posted 4 years ago

kanntara says:

Tested something that was a success as a workaround but does involve some work.

Steps
- Created a new, unshared list
- Move all the tasks to an unshared list (complete and incomplete)
- Delete the original list
- Rename the new list back to the original name.

Results
- A completed task CAN be moved to another list without uncompleting it
- The shared list is removed from my account
- The shared list is NOT removed from their account but is empty
- All incomplete tasks AND completed tasks should be moved or be moved to the inbox.
- All tasks, even if completed by the other person, will be removed from their account

NOTE: IF the other person deletes the shared list before you have a chance to move the items to an unshared list, all items will move to their inbox (complete and incomplete) and will be removed from your account.

Posted 4 years ago

markfrman Pro says:

Kanntara I was doing that but evidently it doesn't work for some tasks. This is a real PITA.

Posted 4 years ago

duncwork says:

+1 - I have a litter of old lists no longer shareable but cluttering up the tabs

Posted 4 years ago

an.educational.journey says:

Totally agree that this is needed:

If I share a list of daily assignments with my housekeeper and she moves away I don't want her deleting my list since it no longer pertains to her. I want to share the list with the new housekeeper.

I also want to share chores with my kids etc. After going to the trouble of setting up the tasks to I don't want to worry that one of them gets deleted because one of the kids just didn't feel like doing it that way.

Posted 3 years ago

an.educational.journey says:

Hit enter to soon. I was going to cut that last paragraph and post in a new suggestion to protect tasks from deletion on shared lists.

Posted 3 years ago

neokeats says:

+1
2 years and nothing done for this... ^^'

Posted 2 years ago

garywiz says:

It seems like a terrible shame that such an essential privacy issue hasn't even been commented on by the company. It gives us very little confidence in using RTM for anything serious.

Relationships change, and people who work on tasks together often do so for a limited amount of time and then go their own ways. Being able to unshare easily is an essential feature.

Posted 2 years ago

ndjakou says:

RTM. Please Listen.
There have been no comments from you on this.
The logic is simple. The sharer of the list- should be the owner. They should decide who the list gets shared with (and unshared with). If the owner removes someone who it is shared with the list should be deleted from the other persons account and moved to a 'system' list called something "Shared- Removed". (This list could not exist until required). That way no notes or changes will be lost.
Should be pretty simple.
We are experimenting in the office with rtm and sharing tasks/lists. I am hoping to convince the whole office to go pro, but this is something that has already raised alarm bells with most of the team. We have tried different scenarios but they all require workrounds and risk deleting tasks.
Also as a side note, tasks should not be deleteable by anyone but the "owner"- only editable.
RTM Please respond and let us know your thoughts on this frustrating subject.

Posted 2 years ago

cono_sur says:

I was somehow able to unshare a list. First, I deleted the Contact from the Contacts page, then I went back to the List -> Share tab and clicked on the shared contact's name. It error-ed out, but it appears as though the person is no longer sharing the list.

Posted 2 years ago

gjunqueira Pro says:

PLEASE, fix it as soon as possible.

The list owner should always be able to share/unshare it with as many contacts as he wants.

Posted 2 years ago

pattygolsteijn Pro says:

Totally agree.

Posted 2 years ago

wolfsnap says:

This isn't a feature request.. It's a bug fix request!

Posted 2 years ago

stephenmeszaros says:

The ability to un-share is a must! This is basic UX, if I share a list with someone I should have "parental" control over said list. You could always give users the option to un-share and allow the, sharee (if that's a word) to keep the list.

Just my 2¢ - Please Implement!

Posted 2 years ago

bo1o1 Pro says:

I'm guessing from all this.. only choice is Pain in the Butt.. Make New Task.. Move all items into new Task.. and don't share it with person you were sharing with..

Posted 2 years ago

iprince says:

>< Terribly uncomfortable, but even worse tasks sharing (not a list). Get rid of sharing for task impossible!!! AND WHY COPY AS PERMISSIONS WHEN DUPLICATING TASKS?!

Posted 2 years ago

rickschertz says:

Ugh. While setting up new lists for groups, I shared one list with a group. Next, I selected a few individuals to share with and didn't realize the prior group was checked. Now I have to delete and recreate the list. :(

Posted 1 year ago

koppah Pro says:

+1

This is a very poor design!

Posted 1 year ago

milandt says:

Please fix it so lists and tasks can be unshared.

Posted 1 year ago

Log in to post a reply.