Welcome!  English (US) Language Switcher

Welcome to Remember The Milk

omar (Remember The Milk) says:

Hi there,

Feel free to ask any questions you may have about Remember The Milk -- we'll try to get to them as soon as possible.

Posted at 5:26pm on October 11, 2005

david.hogg says:

I've got a question about sharing. I understand that we can share with people who have signed up for Remember The Milk only. And also that people we want to share with must include us on their list as well. Assuming that this is the case, do both people access the same to do list and can they each add tasks to that list and perhaps remove tasks from it? This is not quite clear from the explanations given. The exact distinction between sharing with someone and inviting someone is rather blurred.

Posted 8 years ago

ab (Remember The Milk) says:

Hi David,

I would suggest creating a new topic for each question you have, this is more an introductory topic used to describe this part of the forum.

As for your question:

Inviting:
Inviting someone to RTM (Contacts -> Invite Tab), means that you want to make that person aware that the site exists, you're handing over an invitation to that person to create his/her own account. They will not have any access to the site, nor will they be a 'contact' you can interact with, until they have created their own RTM account. An invite is just an email sent to the person to tell them about RTM and where they can sign up.

Sharing:
When you share a list with a 'contact', that person will recieve the list in their (Settings -> List Tab) with a '!' icon next to it. Selecting the list will allow them to either accept or reject the list.

If they accept the list, it will appear under (Tasks) with all their other lists and will also be in your (Tasks). From then on, yes, the two lists update simultaneously to any changes either person makes, if your 'contact' adds a task, it will be added to both lists.

This extends to as many people as you have shared the list with, if you share the list with say 10 of your 'contacts' and they all accept, any change made by any of the 10 people will be reflected on everyone's list.

Also note, that the 'contact' you want to share the list with, does NOT need to have you as a 'contact' to receive the list. If they accept the list, and you're not on their contact list, then you will be added automatically after they accept.

Hope that answers your question David, feel free to ask as many as you want.

Posted 8 years ago

This topic has now been closed automatically due to a lack of responses in the past 90 days.