Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

Remember the Geek: RTM for GeekTool

dws90 says:
I started playing around with GeekTool (http://projects.tynsoe.org/en/geektool/) this weekend. For those who haven't heard of it before, GeekTool is a Mac program that displays "stuff" directly on the desktop. "Stuff" can be files, images, or anything output by a script. It's a very useful program, so I highly recommend all Mac users try it out.

After getting the weather and a calendar setup, I looked for a way to display my RTM tasks on it. The scripts I found seemed to be needlessly complex, so I decided to write a nice, simple one using the Atom feeds. In case someone else here uses GeekTool, I'm sharing it with the world:
http://www.starsage.net/files/scripts/rememberthegeek.py.zip

I included needlessly detailed instructions in the file, so hopefully there won't be any problems. I'd love feedback, though, so if you do have any issues, let me know.
Posted at 5:08am on October 7, 2009
emily (Remember The Milk) says:
Hi dws90,

Neat script. :) I just wanted to let you know that your tip is a Tips & Tricks Tuesday winner. We've upgraded your RTM account to have a free year of Pro. :)
Posted 14 years ago
dws90 says:
Awesome. Thanks!
Posted 14 years ago
t.h.chia says:
Hi, I can't seem to find the instructions. All that I get is a python script.

How do I install it? Thanks very much (I love GeekTool).
Posted 14 years ago
(closed account) says:
Great, but fails at the first accent character :( (é,à, è, ...)
Posted 14 years ago
duane.hubbard says:
This also works great in Conky (linux). Thanks!
Posted 14 years ago
(closed account) says:
It seems to fail at the first accent character, or Euro symbol, when the script is used within GeekTool.
It works well from the Terminal.
I tried adding: "# coding: utf-8" as the first or second line in the script but I had no luck.
Any hint? :(
Posted 14 years ago
xeophin says: