Forums

Discuss all things Remember The Milk.

How to Hack Remember the Milk's "Quick Add" Bookmarklet

(closed account) says:
http://windycitymike.com/2007/10/26/hacking-rtms-quick-add-form/
Posted at 8:33pm on November 1, 2007
lwallach says:
Hey Mike,

Thanks, this is really interesting! I'm a web developer and if I had time might try to implement some of this stuff, but just don't have the time right now.

But just scanning some of what you've done indicates to me that we could design kind of custom interfaces around RTM to use specific tasking methodologies, like GTD which I'm trying to learn right now. If one could build custom pages and forms so as to create custom fields (like your "locale") based on a special character like '@', this seems like it would be of great advantage as a way to do things more easily rather than having to remember what tags a given task has to contain.

So what about it? Anyone game on producing some more of these customizations, particularly around GTD?
Posted 16 years ago
(closed account) says:
Exactly. It's so easy to hack this if you know HTML because all they're using is the POST variable ... so you can essentially set up your own manner of entry to your own preference.

I am most definitely not one of those people who knows HTML and CSS like the back of their hand ... nor do I know Javascript really at all. (I can copy and paste code, mind you!)

So that's why I'm eager to see other people take the ball and run with it on this ... I think that this idea can be done much more beautifully with someone who knows HTML and CSS thoroughly well.

And I know that the JavaScript is imperfect ... but again, I imagine there are JavaScript know-hows amongst the RTM users.

So ... hoping this catches fire a bit ...
Posted 16 years ago
raymond.bergmark Power Poster says: